Wednesday, February 24

The Offspring Release New Song and Album Details

It's been quite a while since we last saw The Offspring drop a full-length album. When Days Go By came out in 2012, Barack Obama was still in his first term as president, The Artist had won the Academy Award for Best Picture, and LeBron James was celebrating his first championship with the Miami Heat.

So, yes, you could say The Offspring's last album title was quite prescient. And their newest record seems to be continuing that trend of being spot on for the moment.

After nearly a decade without a new record, The Offspring announced the release of Let The Bad Times Roll, their tenth full-length album. This one, like the last two, is produced by Bob Rock. But it'll be the band's first-ever record without Greg K., who parted ways with Dexter Holland and Noodles in 2018. The bassist will be replaced by Tony Morse of H2O, who's been touring with The Offspring over the past few years. 

The album is due out on April 16, 2021—in the meantime, the band has dropped the lead single, which also happens to be the title track.

There's quite a bit of auto-tune on Dexter's voice in this one, and it's certainly not the most rocking song, but dang, it's a catchy number. Who knows if we'll get another single before the disc officially drops, but in the meantime, you can check out the tracklist below or pre-order a vinyl, CD, cassette, or some other goodies.

This Is Not Utopia
Let The Bad Times Roll
Behind Your Walls
Army Of One
Breaking These Bones
Coming For You
We Never Have Sex Anymore
In The Hall Of The Mountain King
The Opioid Diaries
Hassan Chop
Gone Away

1 comment: